CBD 101

大麻二酚(CBD)是一種從大麻草中萃取的天然化合物。 CBD通用於激活其受體內源性大麻素系統。該系統專職維持寵物身心系統的平衡(調節)。 CBD油已成為獸醫醫學中一種流行的天然替代品,因為它可以幫助改善各種疾病症狀,例如焦慮,疼痛,發炎和癲癇發作。

需要知道的術語: 在談論CBD產品時避免混淆
1. 大麻: 指大麻植物本身. 大麻草是生產CBD油中常用的三種大麻植物之一.
2. 大麻干葉和花: 指THC含量超過0.3%的大麻植物。
3. 麻: 指THC含量低於0.3%的大麻植物。此THC含量不會構成精神影響。麻的纖維也有不同的用處。
1. 大麻: 指大麻植物本身. 大麻草是生產CBD油中常用的三種大麻植物之一.
2. 大麻干葉和花: 指THC含量超過0.3%的大麻植物。
3. 麻: 指THC含量低於0.3%的大麻植物。此THC含量不會構成精神影響。麻的纖維也有不同的用處。
4. CBD: 是大麻二酚的縮寫。大麻二酚是一種多數從大麻植物(大麻草)的花中提取的天然化合物(植物大麻素)。大麻二酚會和內源性大麻素系統產生互動,以幫助身體狀態保持平衡。
5. THC: 四氫大麻酚(THC)是一種化學物質。它導致大多數人和大麻干葉和花聯想一起的欣快感。它對內源性大麻素系統中的受體產生的作用和CBD類似。 THC在香港是非法的。所有LOP&LOA產品均不包含THC或其相關化合物。
6. 大麻素: 是一個統稱,代表任何可以與內源性大麻素系統(ECS)受體產生互動的化學化合物(包括CBD和THC)。大麻素共有三種類型:
  • 內源性大麻素 - 體內製造
  • 植物大麻素 - 植物內製造
  • 合成大麻素 - 實驗室製造
7. 植物大麻素: 是利用大麻植物,如大麻草,製造的大麻素。它們可以和內源性大麻素系統的受體產生互動,並分別有主要大麻素和次要大麻素兩種。
  • 主要大麻素包括: THC 和 CBD
  • 次要大麻素包括:CBG,CBN, CBC 和其他
8. 內源性大麻素系統(ECS): 是體內最大規模的受體系統。研究顯示在所有已測試的動物中和所有器官系統內都能夠發現受體(昆蟲除外)。這系統負責維持體內穩態和保持身體狀態平衡,特別在緊張,生病和受傷的時候。
9. 類黃酮: 是賦予植物味道、顏色和香氣的化合物。大麻含有獨特的類黃酮 - 大麻黃素 A、B 和 C。這些化合物可能帶有抗氧化和抗增生的效用。
10. 大麻萜烯: 是賦予植物香氣的化合物。大麻萜烯可能帶有療效,並會和大麻素相互影響,以改變和加強大麻素的作用(協同效應)。

多數的大麻品種含有八種主要的大麻萜烯:

  • B-石竹烯
  • B-月桂烯
  • A-蒎烯
  • 檸烯
  • 羅勒烯
  • 萜品油烯
  • 葎烯和芳樟醇
8. 內源性大麻素系統(ECS): 是體內最大規模的受體系統。研究顯示在所有已測試的動物中和所有器官系統內都能夠發現受體(昆蟲除外)。這系統負責維持體內穩態和保持身體狀態平衡,特別在緊張,生病和受傷的時候。
9. 類黃酮: 是賦予植物味道、顏色和香氣的化合物。大麻含有獨特的類黃酮 - 大麻黃素 A、B 和 C。這些化合物可能帶有抗氧化和抗增生的效用。
10. 大麻萜烯: 是賦予植物香氣的化合物。大麻萜烯可能帶有療效,並會和大麻素相互影響,以改變和加強大麻素的作用(協同效應).

多數的大麻品種含有八種主要的大麻萜烯:

  • B-石竹烯
  • B-月桂烯
  • A-蒎烯
  • 檸烯
  • 羅勒烯
  • 萜品油烯
  • 葎烯和芳樟醇
11. 協同效應: 是描述在大麻植物中發現的次要化合物(大麻素,大麻萜烯和類黃酮)所產生的合作效應的詞語。這些化合物配合和加強彼此的效能,從而令到要使用的廣光譜油劑量降低。
12. 濃度: 代表CBD油的强度,並以毫克/毫升來表示。產品濃度在給每隻寵物計算劑量時是十分重要的。高濃度的CBD油代表需要的CBD容量較低。這代表體積大的動物需要到較少量的CBD油,令到一瓶油可以用得比較久。但是,較低濃度的CBD油更適合體積非常小的動物,因可確保劑量的準確。
13. 全光譜產品: 含有兩種主要大麻素 (THC和CBD),其他次要大麻素,大麻萜烯和類黃酮。它擁有所有協同效應的優點,但由於THC的存在,也會導致欣快感。THC有很多醫學上的好處,但在香港是不合法的。 全光譜CBD產品在香港是不合法的。
14. 廣光譜產品: 擁有很多全光譜CBD油的優點,但完全不含THC。它含有一種主要大麻素 (CBD),其他次要大麻素,大麻萜烯和類黃酮。它有協同效應的優點,但沒有THC導致的欣快感。
15. 分離物產品: 只含有一種大麻素 - 如大麻二酚(CBD)。 分離物產品不含有其他自然產生的化合物,如大麻萜烯,類黃酮和次要大麻素。CBD分離物只會由CBD發揮作用,並缺乏協同效應。對比廣光譜產品,分離物產品通常需要較高劑量以達到理想效果。
13. 全光譜產品: 含有兩種主要大麻素 (THC和CBD),其他次要大麻素,大麻萜烯和類黃酮。它擁有所有協同效應的優點,但由於THC的存在,也會導致欣快感。THC有很多醫學上的好處,但在香港是不合法的。 全光譜CBD產品在香港是不合法的。
14. 廣光譜產品: 擁有很多全光譜CBD油的優點,但完全不含THC。它含有一種主要大麻素 (CBD),其他次要大麻素,大麻萜烯和類黃酮。它有協同效應的優點,但沒有THC導致的欣快感。
15. 分離物產品: 只含有一種大麻素 - 如大麻二酚(CBD)。 分離物產品不含有其他自然產生的化合物,如大麻萜烯,類黃酮和次要大麻素。CBD分離物只會由CBD發揮作用,並缺乏協同效應。對比廣光譜產品,分離物產品通常需要較高劑量以達到理想效果。
16. 大麻籽油: 是從大麻籽提取的。大麻籽並不含有高濃度的大麻素,包括CBD。但是,它們是一個完整的蛋白質來源,並含有高濃度的歐米茄 3 脂肪酸,和大量的抗氧化劑。大麻籽油產品經常被用於身體護理,營養品和食品添加劑。
16. 大麻籽油: 是從大麻籽提取的。大麻籽並不含有高濃度的大麻素,包括CBD。但是,它們是一個完整的蛋白質來源,並含有高濃度的歐米茄 3 脂肪酸,和大量的抗氧化劑。大麻籽油產品經常被用於身體護理,營養品和食品添加劑。
17. 中鏈甘油三酯(MCT): 是CBD的載體。由於大麻素有親油性,所以加入脂肪成分可以幫助吸收,令到大麻素發揮最大的效用。 LOP & LOA採用味道平淡和氣味溫和的有機椰子油。
18. 分析證明書 (COA): 是指第三方機構進行的分析,以證明產品的成份和標籤上所指的是一致的。每批CBD也應附有相關的COA。

CBD油是怎樣發揮作用的?

動物體內會製造天然的內生大麻素,名為內源性大麻素。內源性大麻素會和大麻素受體 (CB受體)結合。動物身體共有兩種CB受體,分別為CB1和CB2。

CBD和THC分子(植物大麻素)結構上和這些天然的內源性大麻素十分相似,所以對這些受體會產生相似的作用。

除了CB1和CB2受體,內源性大麻素和植物大麻素也可以跟其他受體結合,從以產生互動。這些受體包括血清素,香草素,多巴胺受體,和其他。

在這些受體所發生的互動可以調整神經遞質,調整和減少炎症蛋白,和增加體內天然產生的內源性大麻素和其他改善情緒的分子。

CBD的優處和科學

由於CBD和其他大麻素在身體中眾多受體所發生的互動,他們帶有很多正面的效果。

  • 減輕焦慮
  • 改善癲癇發作
  • 紓緩疼痛
  • 改善有骨關節炎動物的活動能力
  • 消炎效果
  • 舒緩腸胃不適
  • 調節免疫系統
  • 改善睡眠質素
  • 舒緩噁心
  • 抗癌
  • 刺激食慾
  • 調節THC所產生的醉意

CBD現時在獸醫界是一個熱門的臨床研究範圍。很多計劃周詳的臨床研究都突出了CBD和其他大麻素的優處。

劑量

作爲獸醫擁有的品牌, LOP & LOA 會根據在動物(和人類)上進行的最新的CBD研究作出建議和推薦。

劑量

作爲獸醫擁有的品牌, LOP & LOA 會根據在動物(和人類)上進行的最新的CBD研究作出建議和推薦。

准確的劑量是根據於:

  • 動物的重量
  • 產品的濃度
  • 動物的健康狀況
  • 使用CBD的原因

根據我們的經驗, 對於大多數貓狗,LOP & LOA CBD油的劑量範圍是 0.25 - 2.0 毫克/公斤。使用方法為每日兩次口服。這些劑量可能不適用於其他品牌的 CBD 油。

服用方法:藥水應盡量放入寵物口中,或者放在少量的食物上。

我們建議剛開始的劑量爲:

每日口服兩次,每次1毫克/公斤,服兩星期。

之後可以根據動物反應調整劑量

安全性和建議和你的獸醫溝通的原因

由於腦幹內沒有CB1受體,CBD油是很安全的。另外, LOP & LOA CBD油完全不含THC,以符合香港法律,所以和大麻不同,服用後完全不會構成精神影響。很多優良並在貓狗上進行的安全性研究指出高劑量的CBD只會帶來極小的副作用。

以下的寵物該小心使用

  • 本身有肝臟問題或肝指數高的寵物
  • 寵物目前在使用以細胞色素P450類的酵素作代謝的藥物
  • 寵物目前在使用會導致困倦的藥物
  • 非常年輕或年老的寵物
  • 懷孕或在哺乳的寵物

副作用

  • 疲累
  • 肝酵素升高: ALKP
  • 大便變稀 (可能因爲油性基礎成分MCT)

CBD油在有肝臟問題的寵物的使用

CBD油在有肝臟問題的寵物的使用

不同研究反映出,當使用劑量較高的CBD油時,其中一個肝酵素:鹼性磷酸酶(ALKP)會上升。雖然如此,膽汁酸(衡量肝功能的指數)和ALT(另外一個肝酵素)還維持於正常水平。研究中的狗隻並沒有因爲ALKP的升高而出現任何臨床症狀。

這個現象為何發生還沒有被深入研究,但可能跟CBD對肝臟中細胞色素 P450系統產生的影響有關。CBD油被口服後,它會被小腸吸收和帶到肝臟,並在肝臟被一類名為細胞色素 P450(CYP)的酵素進行代謝。在較高的劑量,CBD會佔用CYP酵素的結合位,並短暫限制CYP酵素的作用。

這可能會影響通過相同途徑分解的其他藥物的代謝,導致這些藥物的流動量更高。請和你的獸醫溝通,以確保你的寵物正在服用的藥物並不採用相同的代謝途徑。

Written by: Dr Tiffany Harries (BSc, BVSc, MRCVS) & Dr Christopher Perkins (BSc, BVSc)


Co-founders of LOP & LOA Ltd.

Chief Veterinary Officers for LOP & LOA Ltd.

Certified Cannabinoid Consultants (CCBDC)

CBD 101

Cannabidiol (CBD) is a natural compound extracted from the Cannabis sativa plant. CBD works on the receptors of the endocannabinoid system which is responsible for maintaining homeostasis (balance) within your pet’s body. CBD oil has become a popular natural alternative in veterinary medicine as it can be helpful in treating various conditions such as anxiety, pain, inflammation and seizures.

Terminology to know: Avoid confusion when talking about CBD products.
1. Cannabis: refers to the plant itself. Cannabis sativa is one of three cannabis plants commonly used in the production of CBD oil.
2. Marijuana: is a term used to describe a cannabis plant that contains more than 0.3% THC.
3. Hemp: is a cannabis plant which has less than 0.3% THC. This level of THC has no psychotropic effects. Often used for its fibre.
1. Cannabis: refers to the plant itself. Cannabis sativa is one of three cannabis plants commonly used in the production of CBD oil.
2. Marijuana: is a term used to describe a cannabis plant that contains more than 0.3% THC.
3. Hemp: is a cannabis plant which has less than 0.3% THC. This level of THC has no psychotropic effects. Often used for its fibre.
4. CBD: is an abbreviation for cannabidiol. Cannabidiol is a natural compound (phytocannabinoid) extracted mainly from the flowers of the hemp plant (Cannabis sativa). Cannabidiol interacts with the endocannabinoid system and assists the body in maintaining balance.
5. THC: Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) is the chemical responsible for the intoxicating ‘high’ most people associate with marijuana. It works in a similar manner to CBD interacting with the receptors of the endocannabinoid system. THC is illegal in Hong Kong and none of LOP & LOA products contain THC or its related chemical compounds.
6. Cannabinoids: is an umbrella term which describes any chemical compounds (including CBD and THC) that interact with the receptors of the endocannabinoid system (ECS). There are three types:
  • Endocannabinoids - made within the body
  • Phytocannabinoids - made within a plant
  • Synthetic cannabinoids - made in a laboratory
7. Phytocannabinoids: are cannabinoids produced by plants, like Cannabis sativa. They have the ability to interact with the receptors of the endocannabinoid system. There are major cannabinoids and minor cannabinoids.
  • Major cannabinoids include: THC and CBD
  • Minor cannabinoids include: CBG, CBN, CBC and others
8. Endocannabinoid System (ECS): is the most extensive receptor system in the body. Research has shown that receptors are found on every organ system and in every animal studied to date (except insects). This system is responsible for maintaining internal homeostasis and keeping balance within the body especially during states of stress, illness and injury.
9. Flavonoids: are the compounds which give taste, colour and aroma to plants. Cannabis has unique flavonoids - Cannaflavin A, B & C. These compounds may have antioxidant and antiproliferative properties.
10. Terpenes: are the compounds that give the aromatic smell to plants. Terpenes may have therapeutic effects and interact with cannabinoids which can alter and increase their effects (entourage effect).

There are eight predominant terpenes in most cannabis strains:

  • B-caryophyllene
  • B-myrcene
  • a-pinene
  • Limonene
  • Ocimene
  • Terpinolene
  • Humelene
  • Linalool
8. Endocannabinoid System (ECS): is the most extensive receptor system in the body. Research has shown that receptors are found on every organ system and in every animal studied to date (except insects). This system is responsible for maintaining internal homeostasis and keeping balance within the body especially during states of stress, illness and injury.
9. Flavonoids: are the compounds which give taste, colour and aroma to plants. Cannabis has unique flavonoids - Cannaflavin A, B & C. These compounds may have antioxidant and antiproliferative properties.
10. Terpenes: are the compounds that give the aromatic smell to plants. Terpenes may have therapeutic effects and interact with cannabinoids which can alter and increase their effects (entourage effect).

There are eight predominant terpenes in most cannabis strains:

  • B-caryophyllene
  • B-myrcene
  • a-pinene
  • Limonene
  • Ocimene
  • Terpinolene
  • Humelene and Linalool
11. Entourage effect: is a term used to describe the synergistic effect of the cannabinoids, terpenes and flavonoids. These compounds compliment each other, enhance each other's effects and allow lower doses of a broad spectrum CBD oil to be used.
12. Potency: refers to the strength of the CBD oil and should be expressed in mg/ml. This is important when calculating the amount needed for an individual pet. A high potency CBD oil generally means less volume of CBD will be needed.
13. Full Spectrum Product: contains the two major cannabinoids (THC and CBD), other minor cannabinoids as well as terpenes and flavonoids. It has all the benefits of the entourage effect but can impart the feeling of euphoria due to the presence of THC. THC carries many medical benefits but in Hong Kong it is illegal. Full spectrum CBD products are illegal in Hong Kong.
14. Broad Spectrum Product: carries many of the benefits of a Full Spectrum CBD oil but contains zero THC. It contains one major cannabinoid (CBD), other minor cannabinoids as well as terpenes and flavonoids. It has the advantage of the entourage effect without the intoxicating effects of THC.
15. Isolate Product: contains only one type of cannabinoid- e.g cannabidiol (CBD). Isolate products lack the presence of other naturally occurring compounds such as terpenes, flavonoids as well as minor cannabinoids. CBD isolates will derive their effect from only CBD and lack the entourage effect. CBD isolates often require higher doses to achieve desired results compared with broad spectrum products.
13. Full Spectrum Product: contains the two major cannabinoids (THC and CBD), other minor cannabinoids as well as terpenes and flavonoids. It has all the benefits of the entourage effect but can impart the feeling of euphoria due to the presence of THC. THC carries many medical benefits but in Hong Kong it is illegal. Full spectrum CBD products are illegal in Hong Kong.
14. Broad Spectrum Product: carries many of the benefits of a Full Spectrum CBD oil but contains zero THC. It contains one major cannabinoid (CBD), other minor cannabinoids as well as terpenes and flavonoids. It has the advantage of the entourage effect without the intoxicating effects of THC.
15. Isolate Product: contains only one type of cannabinoid- e.g cannabidiol (CBD). Isolate products lack the presence of other naturally occurring compounds such as terpenes, flavonoids as well as minor cannabinoids. CBD isolates will derive their effect from only CBD and lack the entourage effect. CBD isolates often require higher doses to achieve desired results compared with broad spectrum products.
16. Hemp Seed Oil: is extracted from hemp seeds which do not contain significant amounts of cannabinoids including CBD. They are, however, a complete source of protein, are high in omega 3 fatty acids, and contain many antioxidants. Hemp seed products are often used for body care, as nutraceuticals and food additives.
16. Hemp Seed Oil: is extracted from hemp seeds which do not contain significant amounts of cannabinoids including CBD. They are, however, a complete source of protein, are high in omega 3 fatty acids, and contain many antioxidants. Hemp seed products are often used for body care, as nutraceuticals and food additives.
17. Medium-chain Triglyceride (MCT): is a delivery agent for the CBD. Cannabinoids are lipophilic which means they are fat-loving and are most effective when delivered in a fatty ingredient which increases absorption. LOP & LOA uses organic coconut oil which has a neutral taste and minimal odour.
18. Certificate of Analysis (COA): is a 3rd party analysis proving what is on the label is in the bottle. Each batch of CBD should be accompanied by a COA.

HOW DOES CBD OIL WORK?

Animals produce natural endogenous cannabinoids referred to as endocannabinoids which bind to the Cannabinoid Receptors (CB receptors). There are two types of CB receptors- CB1 and CB2.

CBD and THC molecules (phytocannabinoids) are very similar in structure to these naturally occurring endocannabinoids and as a result exert a similar effect at these receptors.

In addition to working at the CB1 and CB2 receptors the endo- and phytocannabinoids also have the ability to bind and interact with other receptors in the body such as the serotonin, vanilloid and dopamine receptors amongst others.

The interaction at all these receptors results in modulation of neurotransmitters, down regulation of inflammatory proteins, as well as an increase in naturally occurring endocannabinoids and other feel-good molecules.

BENEFITS OF CBD and THE SCIENCE

Due to the interactions at multiple receptor sites throughout the body, CBD and other cannabinoids have many positive effects.

  • Reduction in anxiety
  • Improved seizure control
  • Improved pain control
  • Improved mobility in animals with arthritis
  • Anti-inflammatory effects
  • Reduction in gastrointestinal disturbances
  • Support and modulation of the immune system
  • Assisting with sleep quality
  • Nausea reduction and improved appetite
  • Anti-cancer effects
  • General well-being and balance

CBD is a hot area of clinical research in the veterinary industry at the moment. There are numerous well designed clinical studies emerging that highlight the benefits of CBD and other cannabinoids. In addition, many veterinary practitioners report good results with their own patients as well as pet owners reporting clinical improvement in their pets.

DOSING

Being veterinarian owned, LOP & LOA base suggestions and recommendations on the latest CBD research in animals (and humans).

DOSING

Being veterinarian owned, LOP & LOA base suggestions and recommendations on the latest CBD research in animals (and humans).

Precise dosing is based on:

  • Weight of the pet
  • Potency of the product
  • Health status of the pet
  • Reason for using CBD

Based on our experience, the dose range of LOP & LOA CBD oil is 0.25 - 2.0 mg/kg in the mouth TWICE daily* for most cats and dogs. CBD dosing varies from product to product. These doses may not apply to other brands of CBD oil.

Administration: drops as far as possible should be placed into your pet’s mouth, alternatively they can be placed on a small amount of food.

We recommend a starting dose of:

1 mg/kg in the mouth TWICE daily for 2 weeks

Adjust the dose based on response after this period

SAFETY and WHY IT IS A GOOD IDEA TO CHAT WITH YOUR VETERINARIAN

As there are no CB1 receptors within the brainstem, CBD oil is very safe. In addition, LOP & LOA CBD oil contains zero THC, in compliance with Hong Kong Law, so the psychotropic effects of cannabis are not experienced at all. Many good safety studies have been conducted in dogs and cats and have shown high doses of CBD are tolerated with minimal side effects.

Use with caution in the following pets

  • Pets with pre-existing liver problems or raised liver values
  • Pets on current medication that use the Cytochrome P450 family of enzymes for metabolism
  • Pets currently on medication that make them more sleepy
  • Very young and very old pets
  • Pregnant or lactating pets

SIDE EFFECTS

  • Drowsiness
  • Increase in the liver enzyme: ALKP
  • Loose stools (possibly due to MCT oil base)

The Use of CBD oil in pets with liver problems

The Use of CBD oil in pets with liver problems

Multiple studies report an increase in one of the liver enzymes, mainly Alkaline phosphatase (ALKP), when CBD oil is used at the higher end of the dose range. Despite these increases the bile acids (a measure of liver function) and ALT another liver enzyme remained normal. The dogs involved in the studies were non-clinical for the increase in ALKP.

The exact mechanism of action has not been well studied but may be linked to the influence CBD has on the Cytochrome P450 system within the liver. When CBD oil is ingested orally, it is absorbed in the small intestine and carried to the liver, where it is metabolized by a group of enzymes called Cytochrome P450 (CYP). At higher dosages, CBD can temporarily inhibit CYP enzymes by competing for the binding site.

This may affect the metabolism of other medications that are broken down by the same pathway, leading to higher circulating quantities of these medications. Speak with your veterinarian to ensure medications your pet is currently taking do not use this metabolic pathway.

Written by: Dr Tiffany Harries (BSc, BVSc, MRCVS) & Dr Christopher Perkins (BSc, BVSc)


Co-founders of LOP & LOA Ltd.

Chief Veterinary Officers for LOP & LOA Ltd.

Certified Cannabinoid Consultants (CCBDC)